Do You Need A Degree To Succeed?

Daniel M
3 min readJun 4, 2020

--

Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

I grew up around family and friends that believed in higher education. In my opinion, there is nothing wrong with going to college but I’m sure we can all agree that it isn’t for everyone. In this era, there are many millennials that soon find out that school is not for them. I don’t mean those that quit high school to become musical artists. But those that finish high school and then decide to take matters into their own hands.

I know for me I would have got my butt whooped if I quit high school. Matter of fact, I’m not sure I would be alive. What I do know now is that I am more effective not going to college and I’ll tell you why.

Back in 2011 is when I graduated college with an Associate’s degree. At the same time I was still finding myself and working on music. I even had an agent. That agent did not last long but I learned to take care of myself after that situation was finished. I started looking at jobs. Any jobs. My god uncle was able to set me up with someone to get some cash. Then I went into retail. Working almost all the time as an associate at Abercrombie and Fitch. After a year I left and that’s when I was on the job hunt again. Then a year or so back from today I decided to grow a pair and take matters into my own hands. I enrolled into Queens College for a graphic design degree but soon found I did not learn at this pace or the way they taught me. I was focused on too many things that I could not grasp the same energy to design.

Through those weeks and months which turned into years, I found myself. At the tender age of 29. I’ve come to realize that I’m a late blooper. Not that I won’t learn something new on the spot but financially I am working on myself. I’m no Warren Buffet but a little change goes a long way.

Delving more into my creative side I started doing music again. This time on my own. Bought myself an iPad so I can bring out my drawing skills into the digital age. Even started investing with the little money I had. It took a little while but I’m reaching the point where I have found what I wanted to do and I didn’t need college. Just faith.

I think the big takeaway here is that no you don’t need college to be successful. Actually the records from the Federal Reserve Bank show that only 27% of college graduates work in the field that they majored in. Also more than 1 in 5 college graduates aren’t working a job that demands a degree after leaving school a decade ago.

A lot of people that are successful are not college graduates. Or do not have a bachelors degree. So if you decide you want to try something new that does not involve college go get it. Time is not going to wait for you so you have to take the challenge while you still can. I started late but if you are 20 to 26 years old you are at the golden age of creating new streams of income and working on things that you love to do rather than things that you feel you have to do.

The best job that you can have is one that gives you freedom. Financially but also a piece of mind.

--

--

Daniel M

Making articles to feed your mind and body. Freelance writer. BMCC Poetry Slam 2012 Winner 📝